Corner Store Conviction.

Corner Store Conviction.

When going to the corner store for a cold drink becomes a corner store conviction, you’ve got to write about it.  Last night I stopped by my local corner store after a nearing midnight run in the park.  I walked to the park but asked my daughter to pick me up after my run.  Once the park lights went out because of the timer say’s, “it’s late, park closed”, I decided to wait for my ride across the street at the corner store.  The owner and I always have brief chats about my visit to Ghana, Africa and his birth place of Ethiopia, but last night was different.

I stood there in front of the counter exchanging stories with him and showing pictures of my daughter’s recent trip to Liberia. We soon realized we had something more than memories of Africa in common.  He questioned me about my daughter 10 year scholarship before adding that his son is a scholar as well.  He is attending the prestigious Emory University after having graduated 3 years ago from his public high school with a 4.5 GPA (if I recall properly) on a full scholarship.  He, like my daughter is an aspiring Physician.

Once my daughter walked in the corner store owner came from around the counter and begin to speak words of wisdom to her.   Though when he was done, I felt all the wiser. He would explain how talented he was in grasping education naturally and applying it almost effortlessly, so much so that he was one of one thousand selected to go to Ethiopia’s, only college.  He would reiterate, that Ethiopia, only has 1.  However, he ended the conversation with a powerful statement, one that both added speed to driving toward me toward my goals, but also, enough sting to convict me for having done the same as he had.  He said, “I let my emotions, overtake my ambitions.”

He would begin speaking of choices he later made that would detour his life.  While the inner conversation in my mind started reciting memories of choices I made that would do the same.

Have you ever allowed you emotions to overtake your ambitions?  If so, how long before you take them back?  Ambitiously speaking.

Read. Post. Facebook. Tweet. Share. Return.  There truly is a message behind the messenger.

This has been Sharon Saffold blogging on purpose and not by chance because chances are, I will blog again.

WWW.SHARONSAFFOLD.COMImage

About sharonsaffold

Motivational Speaker, Spokesperson, Published Author
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment