To Do….Done!(A Response)

Sharon now (June 7, 2016) responds to Sharon then (June 7, 2012)

Answer: (To a question posed four years earlier) Yes, it’s okay to say, “And a child will lead them?”

Questions posed on an earlier post on (June 7, 2012)

“Could we really inherit a life as a “victim” because we were born into the realties of our parents and ancestors. Because she was raped, would it be inevitable for me. Can’t I escape the pattern.”
“Can I be the one to break my families generational curse?” I knew who I was talking to even if I lie alone in a room shared with only my fears and convictions. I knew if I asked loud enough, it would be heard.
As I sit tonight in a dorm suite on the 5th floor of Emory Universities Campus, I am reflecting on how I became a 41-year-old UNCF Mellon Scholar, Spelman Junior, Harvard Divinity and Diversity Exploration Alumnae working on a Ph.D. prospectus with 54 great minds from across the US and South Africa. I know that the questioned asked at age 14, was answered at age 41. It is day 7 of the Mellon Summer Institute. I am loving every minute of learning, every encounter with young scholars and every class that we are attending. I have found my way. Yes, I can be the one person to break multiple years of my families generational curses…and I have won! It had been done, and I have proof!

Today my photos below and my earlier social media post will capture the current climate within my family.

“Sha-Hanna Saffold (My daughter born to me at age 18. I dropped out of high school to have and now have completed almost three years of college alongside. Posted to Facebook June on 7, 2016.)
FB family Sha-Hanna Saffold did much more than I asked her for!!! I charged her with being the one to break the family generational curse as a first-generation scholar. She clapped back by BREAKING HER BACK AND SHOWING UP SPELMAN STRONG WITHOUT LACK!!! She said….now take THAT! AND THAT! She set a new standard and held the door open for her mother and sisters to run-through with her. Wow! You make us all proud!
Joining me in saluting my Giant scholar of a daughter!
Sharing a graduation photo shot taken the day after on May 16th.
“Class of 2015” – Bachelor of Science in Biology, President Beverly Daniel Tatum
“Class of 2016″ – Bachelor of Arts International Studies, President Mary Schmidt Campbell
Gates of the Millennium Scholar
Spelman WELS (Women of Excellence and Leadership)
WiSTEM (Women in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics)
Emory Medical Research – (Published in a Journal)
3 – Study Abroad (Liberia, Botswana, South Africa)
Making her the 1st to graduate under two different Presidents and the 2nd to get a Biology and International Studies Degree simultaneously! What a way to make history sweetie! ‪#‎MyDaughterAreGiants‬ ‪#‎MyFamilyIsFullOfGiants‬ ‪#‎ShaHannaIsAGiant‬”

Serenity S’rae (My daughter born to me at age 26. Posted to Facebook on June 5, 2016)
“Soooo this JUST HAPPENED! Serenity is NOW at Emory with me! What an awesome feeling! I have the same lunch and breakfast hour as Serenity at the same place! She asked me not to stalk her and embarrass her, and that’s when I realized that she is NOT Sha-Hanna Saffold, who adored being on campus with her mother. Oh well! She is going to look up and see me smiling from a distance. Ironically the Opera singer who performed at the very first Giant Event is her Camp Coordinator, and he is looking forward to performing at the five-year celebration of the Giant Event in 2017. Today was a good day! ‪#‎GiantsAtEmoryUniversity‬ ‪#‎TheGiantEvent2016‬ ‪#‎TheGiantMovement‬ ‪#‎TheGratitudeMovement‬”

Want to read the post that this one is responding to from 4 years earlier? See: And A Child Will Lead Them.

Read. Post. Facebook. Tweet. Share. Return. There truly is a message behind the messenger.

This has been Sharon Saffold blogging on purpose and not by chance because chances are, I will blog again.

Momma and SHa-Hanna Grad

About sharonsaffold

Motivational Speaker, Spokesperson, Published Author
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To Do….Done!(A Response)

  1. Yalonda Dabney says:

    I could not help but respond to your blog about generational curses. I personally view them as excuses once you reach a certain age because regardless of your circumstances, you make a conscious decision as to who you want to be and how you get there; the good, the bad and the ugly. It doesn’t necessarily make you a bad person for being a victim of circumstance, but know that there are others like you out there and you’re not alone. Find people that can mentor you, that can provide you a free education just from their very knowledge, that will love you through it. You honey are no longer a victim of your circumstances, you have risen above by leaps and bounds and I could not be more proud of you. Four years is a short time, but look at what all you have accomplished in such a short period of time. You are a fighter and that’s what it takes to beat your circumstances and to brush that dirt (victim status) off your shoulders. So, in my eyes, you went from victim of your circumstances to victorious over them. Kudos to you and your family!!! You all are an inspiration and I love you to pieces!!!

Leave a Reply

