The Immigrant Coal Miner and the Young Polish Women

The Immigrant Coal Miner and the young Polish Women

June 8, 2012

When in doubt, mine it out.  A coal mine turns into a gold mine, for one young Italian immigrant and a young Polish women.  The young father and mother turned that same coal into their children’s gold and together they raise four lawyers and a teacher.  

Most of us are suckers for a feel good rags to riche’s story but this story is so much more.  You know how to save the futures of five young girls.  Lead.

I believed in the old adage that explained that when there is a large family typically with four or more children, one would be the addict, one would die young and one would go to jail as explained in my “Mad Mother” blog.  The first time I ever knew I could challenge that truth was when I met one of the lawyers reared by the pair.  Both mesmerized and as dumb founded as kid holding money from the Tooth Fairy while being told she doesn’t exist; I needed to hear how the couple escaped the adage to produce five successful adults.  I thought, they are sure to be the lone lottery winners of prized off-spring and spirited youth.  How else could they have raised the now, three Lawyers, a Master Degreed Teacher and an Honorable Judge?

It is fairly easy to motivate me, just the idea of options suddenly makes me feel rich.  

Instantly I begin to reprogram my mind to stop wondering if the children’s love for sugar would translate into an addiction of another white substances.  I stopped looking at my children and watching for signs of failure or moral lack.  I became an empowered parent.  Fear of failure and set outcomes no longer haunted me as often, instead it was replace with the rewind and play button of three Lawyers, a Teacher and a Judge.  We have successfully graduated two seniors now college bound scholars.  Double what was expected.    

What do I have in common with the immigrant coal miner and the young polish women?    

A High Five!  They lead by example and we copied. 

Tomorrows Post:  A Chance For A Change.

Read. Post. Facebook. Tweet. Share. Return.  There truly is a message behind the messenger.

This has been Sharon Saffold blogging on purpose and not by chance because chances are, I will blog again.

 

 WWW.SHARONSAFFOLD.COMImage

About sharonsaffold

Motivational Speaker, Spokesperson, Published Author
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Immigrant Coal Miner and the Young Polish Women

  1. Rochelle says:

    Our Children, they our gold nuggets from God! We are call to rise them with a good fountain. I believe with your life experience you have a unbelievable life lessons they can learn from.
    Be true to yourself!
    Rochelle

Leave a comment